Satay Sarinah, Rare Mom-n-Pop Indonesian at Van Dorn Station in South Alexandria - Closed and Hopefully Relocating

This weekend, friends of mine took me to eat at Satay Sarinah in Alexandria in the Van Dorn Station.
It was Indonesian food. I'm no expert, as I always think Malaysian and Indonesian are similar, but I did enjoy the food.
We started with a variety of satays- lamb, beef and chicken- nice and smokey.
I ordered the Spicy Rujak salad, it was cabbage, sprouts and carrots with the spicy peanut sauce, covered with shrimp chips- good, not the best i've had though.
For entree, I had the Rengdang Daging- beef slow cooked in a gingery stew- also very delicious. I like the side of curried pickles. I also sampled my eating companions' lamb shank which was very tasty.
I think for the price (8-12 dollars), this place was pretty good.

I think for the price (8-12 dollars), this place was pretty good.

Agreed, it is pretty good, and perhaps more importantly, it's one of the only Indonesian restaurants in the Washington, DC area. Off the top of my head, I can't think of another one other than Sabang in Wheaton (I heard Sabang is closed, is this true?)

Lumpia Goreng ($4) were homemade, and decent spring rolls, Krupuk Udang ($3), the shrimp chips, are less important as conduits for the palate-cleansing Acar Kuning ($3), than they are as some quick chips to stave off hunger. The best appetizer of the four was the Sate Ayam ($9), which was about six skewers of well-grilled, mostly dark-meat chicken served atop a peanut-based sauce.

The entrees here were reasons enough to return. Ayam Goreng Bogor ($10) is their house-specialty Bogor fried chicken, a half-chicken, gently marinated and well-roasted, and served with a dipping sauce and a scoop of pretty good rice. Gulai Kambing ($11) is a house-special lamb curry, and despite it looking somewhat dull, both the lamb and the mild sauce were super tasty, especially spooned over the rice, and worth ordering again.